Navarātri - 9 nights of Dēvi

Oct 07, 2021

Today marks to start of Navarātri, the most auspicious festival of the divine feminine. Celebrated over 9 nights, each night devoted to a different incarnation of Durga - the Mahadevi (Great Devi). 

Day 1 – Shailaputri

It is in this form that Durga is worshiped as the wife of Shiva; she is depicted as riding the bull Nandi, with a trishula in her right hand and lotus in her left. Shailaputri is considered to be the direct incarnation of Mahakali. The colour of the day is grey, which depicts action and vigor. 

Day 2 – Brahmacharini

The celebration of Goddess Brahmacharini. She is revered for emancipation or moksha and endowment of peace and prosperity. Depicted as walking bare feet and holding mala beads and a kamandala (pot) in her hands, she symbolises bliss and calm. Blue is the colour of this day. 

Day 3 – Chandraghanta

The third commemorates the worship of Chandraghanta. She is the embodiment of beauty and is also symbolic of bravery. White is the colour of the third day, which is a vivacious colour and can pep up everyone's mood.

Day 4 – Kushmanda

Goddess Kushmanda is worshiped on the fourth day. Believed to be the creative power of the universe, Kushmanda is associated with the endowment of vegetation on earth. The colour of the day is Red. She is depicted as having eight arms and sits on a Tiger.

Day 5 – Skandamata

Skandamata, is the mother of Skanda. The colour of Royal Blue is symbolic of the transforming strength of a mother when her child is confronted with danger. She is depicted riding a ferocious lion, having four arms while holding her baby.

Day 6 – Katyayani

Born to sage Katyayana, she is shown to exhibit courage which is symbolised by the colour Yellow. Known as the warrior goddess, she is considered one of the most violent forms of Devi. In this avatar, Katyayani rides a lion and has four hands. 

Day 7 – Kaalaratri

Considered the most ferocious form of Goddess Durga. The colour of the day is Green. The Goddess appears in a red coloured attire or tiger skin full of rage in her fiery eyes, her skin turns black. The red colour portrays prayer and devotion. She is considered the goddess of protection.

Day 8 – Mahagauri

Mahagauri symbolises intelligence and peace. The color associated with this day is Peacock Green which depicts optimism. 

Day 9 – Siddhidatri

Siddhidatri, sitting on a lotus, she is believed to possess and bestows all types of Siddhis (powers). Here she has four hands. Also known as Mahalakshmi, The purple color of the day portrays an admiration towards nature's beauty & abundance. 


Navarātri is a time to soften into the energy of the Devi (feminine). To align with the natural & intelligent rhythms of nature which are in fact the divine feminine herself. A time for ease, flow, grace and absolute reverence. A time to be gentle & inward. A time for flowers, beauty & abundance. A time for mantra, story telling & devotion. A time for the goddess within & without.

Jai Ma & Devi blessings to all.

Time for an upgrade of self?

Experience the profound effects of BREATHWORK for just $10 p/wk 

+ 7 DAY FREE TRIAL so you can try it out, no catch

Tell me more!